Štajerska Slovenija

The breathtaking landscape of štajerska slovenija with its alpine-mediterranean climate has been producing white wines of international renown since the imperial period.

Right at the heart of the viticultural area of Štajerska Slovenija is Gorca, a wine-growing village surrounded by the most charming landscape you can imagine: a dense mesh of hills with bowl-shaped terraced vineyards to manage the steep terrain. The highest vantage point offers breath-taking views across our vineyards, reaching as far as the borders with Austria and Croatia.

A sleeping beauty for over a hundred years, still largely off the beaten track, the winegrowing area of Štajerska Slovenija is now slowly waking up to a new destiny. Wines from this region were once enjoyed at the royal tables of the Danube Monarchy, a sure sign of their potential for excellence.

In 2005 a stroke of luck enabled us to purchase our first vineyard in Gorca. Over the years we have enlarged the terraced vineyards

and planted some anew. Our Slovenian vineyards meanwhile make for nearly a fifth of the surface area cultivated by our winery.

Having vineyards on the other side of the border is not entirely new to our family. Our first vineyard from 1907, the Witscheiner Herrenberg, is today located on Slovenian ground.

For generations, we have been growing wine in two viticultural areas that are similar in terms of soil, climate, and landscape cultivation. We commit ourselves to contributing to the rapprochement of the two regions and to helping restore Štajerska Slovenija to its ancient fame.

read more

100 per cent terraced vineyards

Pioneering spirit and manual labour is a must in the steep, terraced vineyards of the gorca region.

The calcareous soils and a climate influenced by the Alps and the Adriatic Sea are closely related to Südsteiermark. Gorca, around 60 kilometres south of the Austro-Slovenian border, offers ideal conditions for growing excellent Furmint and Sauvignon Blanc.

Viticulture on the steep and narrow terraces needs careful work, all by hand. The grapes are processed and the wines left to mature in the cellar of a vintner’s house located amidst the vineyards high up in Gorca. In 2011, we adapted the press house and vaulted cellar to our technical needs and brought our first vintage to the market: Colles 2011 was born.

International media and sommeliers of renown have meanwhile discovered the virtues of the wines from this region. Together with local winegrowers, we are of course happy about this development. We spend much time in Gorca, work hand in hand with the locals, and appreciate the cooperation with the neighbourhood.

Their positive feedback has encouraged us to continue with our pioneering work and make a name for the region well beyond its boundaries.

read more
Coordinates: 46°20'31.6"N 15°51'07.8"E

The viticultural area

Historically speaking, the winegrowing area of Štajerska Slovenija has always proven its potential for quality. Two world wars and their political aftermath have, however, left their traces. It is our ambition to wake Štajerska Slovenija from its slumber, with great passion and a good deal of work.

Michael Gross, Winegrower

Orientation

Our Slovenian vineyards are located in the Haloze region near the town of Ptuj, around 60 km south of our winery. Terraced vineyards on steep hills characterize the scenery. Our grape vines grow in south-facing bowl-shaped sites.

Ground structure

The calcareous clay soil or marl, as experts would call it, is referred to as “opok” in Südsteiermark or “opoka” in large parts of Slovenia. Winegrowers in Gorca simply call it “lapor” (Slovenian for marl), a name that we would also like to use. The humus-bearing topsoil layer is rather thin, which is why the grape vines are deeply rooted in the lapor, in search for nutrients. This is reflected in the wines: lean, by no means opulent or fruit-forward, salty, and with a long-lasting finish.

Micro climate

The climate in Štajerska Slovenija resembles ours in Südsteiermark. Both areas are influenced by the Alps and the Adriatic Sea. Warmer days and cool nights characterize their aromas. The only difference: it rains much less in the wine-growing village of Gorca, with an annual average precipitation of 600 litres/sqm (in Ratsch we have 1 000 l/sqm). The air in the bowl-shaped sites of Gorca is also much warmer as the sides of the terraced hills reflect the heat.

In 2004 Alois Gross received a hand-written letter with an offer to purchase a small house and vineyard in the viticultural area of Gorca, Slovenia. The seller, an elderly woman in Vienna, wanted to make sure that her family’s possession passed into good hands. Alois saw no need to enlarge his winery by another vineyard 60 km away and first did not respond to the letter. When a postcard arrived from the same sender a few weeks later, they agreed to go and have a look. Their destination was some ten km south of Ptuj in an extremely charming landscape.

On a little hill, at the end of the road, was a vintner’s house surrounded by grape vines. Enchanted by the little estate and its surroundings, Alois decided to spend more time there in the future.

A little later, the neighbours contacted him: two groups of heirs with up to 27 legal successors, none of whom had anything to do with wine, also wanted to sell. When Johannes and Michael first visited the region, they saw its potential right away. They planted new vineyards, replaced the dead vines, and learned to work with the existing terroir and its fruits.

Seven years after their first trip to Gorca, they launched “Colles 2011”, their first wine from the area.

This viticultural area was once known as “Kollos”. The name goes back to the Imperial period and was derived from “Colles”, a hilly wine land.

The young Sauvignon Blanc vines were given ideal conditions to take root in the hard subsoil of the terraced vineyards. We planted them 50 cm deep in holes that we drilled using an earth auger and then filled with organic humus rich in nutrients.

GORCA

Furmint
After Welschriesling (Laški Rizling), Furmint is the second-most planted grape variety in Slovenia. It is also known as Šipon, a variety that has been taken to great fame in Hungary with its famous sweet wines from Tokaji.

In 2008 Johannes and Michael Gross paid a visit to István Szepsy, the pioneer of dry Furmint, in order to buy a selection of his best grape vines. They bred the vines and planted them on the terraces in Gorca.

Štajerska Slovenija

Die atemberaubende Landschaft der Štajerska Slovenija mit ihrem alpin-mediterranen Klima brachte schon zu Kaisers Zeiten Weißweine von internationalem Format hervor.

In der Weinbauregion Štajerska Slovenija liegt Gorca, der zu den landschaftlich reizvollsten Weinbauorten weltweit zählt. Die Hügel reihen sich dicht aneinander und bilden Kessel mit steilen Weinterrassen. Am höchsten Punkt bietet sich ein atemberaubender Ausblick über unsere Weingärten hinweg bis an die Grenzen zu Österreich und Kroatien.

Weitgehend unentdeckt vom Tourismus erwacht das Weinbaugebiet Štajerska Slovenija behutsam aus einem fast hundertjährigen Dornröschenschlaf. Die Weine der Region wurden einst am Hof der k. u. k.-Monarchie getrunken, was ihr Potenzial erahnen lässt.

Im Jahr 2005 hatten wir das Glück, den ersten Weingarten in Gorca erwerben zu können. Laufend erweiterten wir die Weinterrassen oder

bepflanzten diese neu, sodass nun etwa ein Fünftel der Rebfläche unseres Weinguts in Slowenien liegen.

Dass wir Weingärten jenseits der Grenze pflegen, ist für unsere Familie nicht neu. Unser erster Weingarten aus dem Jahr 1907, der Witscheiner Herrenberg, befindet sich auf heute slowenischem Terrain.

Seit Generationen sind wir Weinbauern zweier Weinbaugebiete, die sich in Boden, Klima und Kulturlandschaft gleichen. Wir wollen unseren Teil zur Annäherung der beiden Regionen beitragen und der Štajerska Slovenija wieder zu altem Ruhm verhelfen.

weiterlesen

100 Prozent Terrassen

Pioniergeist und Handarbeit ist in den steilen Terrassen der Region um Gorca gefordert.

Die kalkreichen Böden und das von Alpen und Adria beeinflusste Klima der Region ähneln den Gegebenheiten der Südsteiermark. Gorca, etwa 60 Kilometer südlich der österreichisch-slowenischen Grenze, bietet beste Voraussetzungen für großartige Furmints und Sauvignon blancs.

Die Pflege der Weingärten in den steilen und engen Terrassen erfordert sorgsame Handarbeit. Die Traubenverarbeitung und der Ausbau der Weine finden im Keller eines Winzerhauses statt, das inmitten der Weingärten hoch oben in Gorca liegt. 2011 passten wir das Presshaus und den Gewölbekeller unseren technischen Ansprüchen an und brachten mit Colles 2011 den ersten Jahrgang auf den Markt.

Die Aufmerksamkeit internationaler Medien und namhafter Sommeliers für die Weine der Region steigt. Gemeinsam mit den hiesigen Weinbauern freuen wir uns über diese Entwicklung. Wir verbringen viel Zeit in Gorca, arbeiten Hand in Hand mit den ortsansässigen Menschen und schätzen die gute nachbarschaftliche Zusammenarbeit.

Das positive Echo aus dem Gebiet bestärkt uns darin, Pionierarbeit zu leisten und den Namen der Region nach außen zu tragen.

weiterlesen
Koordinaten: 46°20'31.6"N 15°51'07.8"E

Weinbaugebiet

Historisch gesehen hat das Weinbaugebiet Štajerska Slovenija immer wieder Potenzial bewiesen. Die beiden Weltkriege und ihre politischen Nachwehen hinterließen tiefe Spuren. Wir möchten die Štajerska Slovenija mit viel Leidenschaft und Elan aus dem Dornröschenschlaf erwecken.

Michael Gross, Weinbauer

Orientierung

Unsere slowenischen Weingärten liegen im Haloze-Gebiet nahe der Stadt Ptuj, etwa 60 Kilometer südlich unseres Weinguts. In Terrassen angelegte Weingärten auf steilen Hängen prägen das Landschaftsbild. Unsere Rebstöcke gedeihen in südorientierten Kessellagen.

Bodenaufbau

Was in der Fachsprache als kalkhaltiger Mergelboden bezeichnet wird, hat in der Südsteiermark und in großen Teilen Sloweniens den Namen „Opok“ bzw. „Opoka“. Die Winzer in Gorca sagen schlicht „Lapor“ (slowenisch für Mergel) dazu – eine Benennung, die wir gerne aufgreifen möchten. Der humusreiche Oberbodenanteil ist gering, wodurch die Rebstöcke auf der Suche nach Nährstoffen tief im Lapor wurzeln. Man merkt es den Weinen an: karg, keinesfalls opulent oder vordergründig, salzig und langanhaltend.

Mikroklima

Das Klima in der Štajerska Slovenija ähnelt dem der Südsteiermark. Beide Gebiete sind von den Alpen und der Adria beeinflusst. Warme Tage und kühle Nächte prägen die Aromatik. Nur im Weinbauort Gorca regnet es wesentlich weniger, nämlich 600 Liter/m² im Jahresschnitt. (Zum Vergleich: in Ratsch sind es 1.000 Liter/m²). Die Luft in den Kessellagen bei Gorca erhitzt sich im Sommer sehr schnell, da die Böschungen der Terrassen viel Wärme abstrahlen.

2004 ereilte Alois Gross ein handschriftlicher Brief mit dem Angebot, ein Häuschen und einen Weingarten im slowenischen Weinbauort Gorca zu erwerben. Die Verkäuferin aus Wien wollte den Familienbesitz in guten Händen wissen. Alois sah keine Notwendigkeit, die Flächen unseres Weinguts um Weingärten in 60 Kilometer Entfernung zu erweitern und reagierte zunächst nicht auf den Brief. Erst als Wochen später auch noch eine Postkarte von derselben Absenderin eintraf, verabredeten sich die beiden zu einer Fahrt nach Gorca. Ihr Ziel lag etwa zehn Kilometer südlich von Ptuj inmitten einer außerordentlich reizvollen Landschaft.

Auf einem Hügel, am Ende einer Straße stand ein Weingartenhaus umgeben von Rebstöcken. Bezaubert von dem kleinen Anwesen und seiner Umgebung entschied Alois, dass er hier in Zukunft mehr Zeit verbringen möchte.

Wenig später meldeten sich die Nachbarn: Zwei Erbgemeinschaften mit bis zu 27 berechtigten Erben, von denen keiner mit Wein zu tun hatte, wollten ebenfalls verkaufen. Auch Johannes und Michael hatten die Gegend kennengelernt und schätzten das Potenzial der Weinregion sehr hoch ein. Sie erweiterten die Weingärten, erneuerten abgestorbene Rebstöcke und lernten mit dem vorherrschenden Terroir und dessen Früchten umzugehen.

Sieben Jahre nach der ersten Fahrt in die Region brachten sie mit „Colles 2011“ ihren ersten slowenischen Wein auf den Markt.

Ein alter Name der hiesigen Weinbauregion ist „Kolos“. Die in der k. u .k.-Zeit gebräuchliche Bezeichnung leitet sich von „Colles“ ab und bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang „hügeliges Weinland“.

Den jungen Sauvignon blanc-Rebstöcken schufen wir beste Voraussetzungen, um im harten Untergrund der Weinterrassen solide Wurzeln zu schlagen. Wir setzten sie in etwa 50cm tiefe Löcher, die wir aufwendig mit Erdbohrgeräten aushöhlten und mit nährstoffreichem Bio-Humus füllten.

GORCA

Furmint
Der Furmint ist nach dem Welschriesling (Laški Rizling) die meist angebaute Rebsorte des Landes. In Slowenien kennt man ihn auch als „Šipon“ und in Ungarn werden die berühmten „Tokajer“ Süßweine aus dieser Rebsorte vinifiziert.

2008 reisten Johannes und Michael Gross nach Ungarn zu István Szepsy, dem Pionier trocken ausgebauten Furmints, um eine Selektion seiner besten Reben zu bekommen. Sie vermehrten die Rebstöcke und pflanzten sie auf die Terrassen des Weinorts Gorca.